Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award


Each year, Emerson recognizes teachers throughout the St. Louis metropolitan area with an Excellence in Teaching Award. This award recognizes teachers for their passion for teaching, their impact on student learning, and their knowledge and creativity. Awards are given during an awards ceremony with a reception following at the Ritz-Carlton.

Washington University Awardees

2014 Ron Cytron (Engineering)

2013 Regina Frey (Arts & Sciences)

2012 Cindy Brantmeier (Arts & Sciences)

2011 Peter Kastor (Arts & Sciences)

2010 Daniel Giammar (Engineering)

2009 Kathryn Miller (Arts & Sciences)

2008 Glenn MacDonald (Business)

2007 Steven Fazzari (Arts & Sciences)

2006 Robert Pless (Engineering)

2005 Lisa Bulawsky (Art)

2004 James Miller (Arts & Sciences)

2003 Marcus Berliant (Arts & Sciences)

2002 Alison Whelan (Medicine)

2001 Richard Smith (Arts & Sciences)

2000 Bob Hansman (Architecture)

1999 Sally Goldman (Engineering and Applied Science)

1998 James Davis (Arts & Sciences)

1997 Julian Fleischman (Medicine)

1996 William Buhro (Arts & Sciences)

1995 Jill Pasteris (Arts & Sciences)

1994 Susan Rava (Arts & Sciences)

1993 Marcia Armstrong (Business)

1992 Jean Ensminger (Arts & Sciences)​